With the 2015 BET Hip Hop Awards taking place in a little under a month, BET revelaed the nominations for this years ceremony. Drake holds the top spot with 12 nominations for his album If Your Reading This Its Too Late as well as his long list of 2015 collaborations. Drake surprised the world by releasing his album without prior notice and making it available to download for free on SoundCloud for a limited time. Big Sean holds his own and follows up with a solid 10 nominations. Sean released Dark Sky Paradise this year which gave us mega hits including the ever so popular “Blessings”,”IDFWU”, “One Man Can Change The World” and “Play No Games”.

Nicki Minaj is nominated for 9 awards including Album Of The Year for The Pink Print. J. Cole receives a career high 8 nominations for his platinum selling album 2014 Forest Hills Drive. Cole has had an amazing year with his album reaching platinum status, a sold-out tour and a collaboration, ” No Sleep”, with the legend that is Janet Jackson for her comeback album Unbreakable. 

The award for ” Lyricist of The Year” is sure to spark heavy debate as Kendrick Lamar, Drake, J.Cole, Big Sean and Nicki Minaji are all nominated. This years award show will air on October 13 hosted by Snoop Dogg, affectionately known as a Uncle Snoop, for the third consecutive year in a row. Check out a full list of nominations below.

Best Hip Hop Video

  • Big Sean f/ Chris Brown & Ty Dolla $ign- “Play No Games”
  • Big Sean f/ Drake & Kanye West- “Blessings”
  • Fetty Wap- “Trap Queen
  • Kendrick Lamar- “Alright”
  • Nicki Minaji f/ Beyonce- “Feeling Myself”

Best Collabo, Duo or Group

  • Big Sean f/ Drake & Kanye West- “Blessings”
  • Big Sean f/ E-40- “IDFWU”
  • Fetty Wap f/ Monty- “My Way”
  • Nicki Minaj f/ Drake & Lil Wayne- “Truffle Butter”
  • Nicki Minaj f/ Beyonce- “Feeling Myself”

Best Live Performer

  • Drake
  • J. Cole
  • Kanye West
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • Nicki Minaj

Lyricist of the Year

  • Big Sean
  • Drake
  • J. Cole
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • Nicki Minaj

Video Director of the Year

  • Alan Ferguson
  • Benny Boom
  • Chris Robinson/ Lil Chris
  • Colin Tilley
  • Director X

DJ of the Year

  • DJ Drama
  • DJ Envy
  • DJ Esco
  • DJ Khaled
  • DJ Mustard

Producer of the Year

  • DJ Mustard
  • J. Cole
  • Kanye West
  • Mike Will Made-It
  • Pharrell Williams
  • Timbaland

MVP of the Year

  • Big Sean
  • Drake
  • Future
  • J. Cole
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • Nicki Minaj

Track of the Year

  • “Alright” – Produced by Pharrell Williams & Sounwave (Kendrick Lamar)
  • “Blessings”- Produced by Boi-1da & Vinylz (Big Sean f/Drake & Kanye West)
  •  “Commas”- Produced by Dj Spinz & Southside (Future)
  • “IDFWU”- Produced by Dj Dahi, Dj Mustard, Kanye West & Key Wane (Big Sean f/ E-40)
  • “Trap Queen”- Produced by Tony Fadd (Fetty Wap)

Album of the Year

  • Big Sean- Dark Sky Paradise
  • Drake- If Your Reading This Its Too Late
  • J. Cole- 2014 Forest Hills Drive
  • Kendrick Lamar- To Pimp A Butterfly
  • Nicki Minaj- The Pinkprint
  • Wale- The Album About Nothing

Who Blew Up Award

  • Bobby Shmurda
  • Dej Loaf
  • Fetty Wap
  • Rae Sremmurd
  • Tink

Hustler Of The Year

  • Dr. Dre
  • Drake
  • J. Cole
  • Jay-Z
  • Nicki Minaj

Made You Look Award ( “Best Hip Hop Style”

  • A&AP Rocky
  • Dej Loaf
  • Drake
  • Kanye West
  • Nicki Minaj

Best Hip Hop Online Site

  • Allhiphop.com
  • Complex.com
  • Hotnewhiphop.com
  • Rapradar.com
  • Worldstarhiphop.com

Best Club Banger

  • Big Sean f/ E-40 -” IDFWU” (Produced by Dj Dahi, Dj Mustard, Kanye West & Key Wane)
  • Dej Loaf- “Try Me” (Produced by Dds)
  • Fetty Wap- “Trap Queen” (Produced by Tony Fadd)
  • Future- “Commas” (Produced by Dj Spinz & Southside)
  • Rick Homie Quan- “Flex” (Produced by Dj Spinz & Nitti Beatz)

Best Mixtape

  • Future- 56 Nights
  • Future- Beast Mode
  • Future- Monster
  • Lil Wayne- Sorry 4 The Wait 2
  • Travis Scott- Days Before Radio

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse

  • Drake- “Blessings” (Big Sean f/Drake & Kanye West)
  • Drake-” My Way Remix” (Fetty Wap f/Drake)
  • E-40- “IDFWU” (Big Sean f/E-40)
  • Kendrick Lamar- “Cla$$ic Man Remix” (Jidenna f/ Kendrick Lamar)
  • Lil Wayne- “Truffle Butter” (Nicki Minaj f/ Drake & Lil Wayne)

Impact Track

  • Big Sean f/ Kanye West & John Legend- “One Man Can Change The World”
  • Common & John Legend- “Glory”
  • J. Cole- “Apparently”
  • J. Cole- “Be Free”
  • Kendrick Lamar- “Alright”

People’s Champ Award

  • Big Sean f/ Drake & Kanye West- “Blessings”
  • Fetty Wap- “Trap Queen”
  • Future- “Commas”
  • Kendrick Lamar- “I”
  • Rae Sremmurd- “No Type”
  • Rich Homie Quan- “Flex”




About The Author Patryce Stewart

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>