On Tuesday (Dec. 20), it was announced that Tupac Shakur will officially be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame next year in Brooklyn. He, along with Pearl Jam, Journey, Yes, Joan Baez, and Electric Light Orchestra will be inducted at the 32nd annual ceremony. Nile Rodgers will also enter the Hall with a Musical Excellence nomination. Tupac’s induction makes him the first solo rap act to enter the hall of fame, the legendary Hip-Hop group NWA was inducted last year.

RELATED: ‘All Eyez On Me’ Film Finally Gets A Release Date

The ceremony is set to take place on April 7, 2017 at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center, and will be televised on HBO as well as a radio broadcast will on SiriusXM. To celebrate the occasion, Shakur memorabilia will also be on display at the Rock Hall starting Mar. 30.

RELATED: NWA Inducted Into The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame, Ice Cube Is Speechless!

The late legend’s estate celebrated with a post on Instagram. “On behalf of the Tupac Estate, we are incredibly honored to announce that Tupac has been selected as one of the 2017 inductees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame,” it reads. “Thank you to the nominating committee and to his fans who supported his nomination by voting. This award recognizes how Tupac’s message of change and mission to give a voice to those who didn’t have one continues to resonate with millions of people to this day. You are the reason Tupac’s legacy lives on.”

We wonder what Gene Simmons has to say now?

About The Author Tatyana Jenene

Birds in the Trap Sing Aaron Hall.

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>